TATA WPL 2024 Playoffs Begin; Meet the Tournament's Top Performers

TATA WPL 2024 Playoffs Begin; Meet the Tournament's Top Performers

By: WE Staff

As the TATA WPL 2024 comes close to its final matches, three teams have emerged on top including defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore, along with the top team Delhi Capitals directly qualifying for the finals. Meg Lanning, Harmanpreet Kaur, Ellyse Perry & others have showcased tremendous performances so far.

The most thrilling tournament of the year, the TATA Women's Premier League (TATA WPL) 2024 has completed its 20 league matches and received the top 3 teams of the season to compete for the ultimate WPL Trophy. The second season of the tournament has been an exciting watch for spectators and cricket lovers as it featured big names from India and overseas who showcased great performances with their batting style and splendid spinnings.

The top three teams that have directly qualified for the knockout stage include, defending champions Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore, along with the top team Delhi Capitals directly qualifying for the finals.

A Glimpse at the Tournament

The TATA WPL has become India's largest cricket tournament, which kickstarted last month on 23 February 2024. Managed by the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI), the five-team tournament features 20 league matches, semi-finals or eliminators, and finals. The first 11 matches were organized in M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, and the next 11 matches at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi. It featured 5 distinctive teams, including Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and UP Warriorz where DC has clinched to compete in the finals after regaining their place at the top of the points table.

Likewise last year, this time also Delhi Capitals finished first leading the table, with one game remaining. Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore are the second and third-place sides, respectively who will face each other at the Eliminators on 15 March, Friday. Along with MI, defending champions from last year, DC's Jemimah Rodrigues' form is a significant boost, while RCB's brilliance is expected to be their second-favorite in the eliminator, with the final scheduled for 17 March, Sunday.

Top Performers of WPL 2024 So Far

The reigning Orange Cap holder is Meg Lanning from Delhi Capitals. She has played 8 matches with an average of 38-50 clinching 308 runs so far. To be noted Meg is the Captain of DC and she is the consistent Orange Cap holder from the maiden season of TATA WPL. With 4 half-centuries in 8 matches, she has also taken the title of most fifties in the tournament.

Marizanne Kapp is the current Purple Cap holder bagging the highest number of wickets. She has grabbed 11 wickets in just 6 matches with an economy rate of 6.50.

Mumbai Indians Captain Harmanpreet Kaur has smashed the highest runs in TATA WPL 2024 so far. She has the title of highest Individual Runs taken in the tournament with 95* runs without losing her wicket with a strike rate of 197.91.

The star player of Royal Challengers Bangalore, Ellyse Perry has climbed her Best Bowling Figures against MI. In just 4 overs, she grabbed 6 crucial wickets with an economy of 3.75. Ellyse also carries the player with the fastest 5-wicket haul in just 7 matches.

UP Warriorz player Deepti Sharma has the Best Batting average with 295 runs in 8 matches with an average of 98.33.

Alice Capsey of DC secured the Best Bowling average taking 4 wickets with an average of 9.00 in 8 matches.

Shabnam Ismail of MI is the most Economical Bowler with an economy rate of 5.95 grabbing 8 wickets in 6 matches.

The most number of Sintex Sixes smashed during the tournament was by Shafali Verma of DC. She hit 17 sixes in 8 matches securing 265 runs.

Meg Lanning has another title of scoring the most number of Fours and Boundaries during WPL 2024. She hit 44 fours and 48 boundaries during the tournament.

During the 20 matches, viewers have witnessed two champion teams to get All-Out. On Friday 8 March, UP Warriorz grabbed all the wickets of Delhi Capitals and won by 1 Run. On 12 March Tuesday, Mumbai Indians were all out against RCB. Skipper Smriti led team secured a win by 7 Wickets.

Although Gujarat Giants could not make it to the playoffs and are placed at the bottom of the Points Table but they have created history by scoring 199 runs against RCB where Captain Beth Mooney scored 85 Runs off 51 balls without losing her wicket whereas Laura Wolvaardt scored 76 runs off 45 balls.

The TATA WPL 2024 season was a mega-hit for everyone, each team and its players showcased their best performances on the field. Spectators have gathered at the stadiums with over 26,000 viewers breaking records of last year. Top brands have sponsored their teams along with Bollywood stars performing at the opening ceremony.