TATA WPL 2024: Delhi Capitals Continue Winning Streak; Defeat MI by 29 Runs

TATA WPL 2024: Delhi Capitals Continue Winning Streak; Defeat MI by 29 Runs

By: WE Staff | Wednesday, 6 March 2024

The Delhi Capitals and Mumbai Indians have competed in two thrilling matches in the Tata Women's Premier League (TATA WPL) 2024 winning one match each by the teams. The first match was won by MI by 4 wickets in M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru where match 12 or can be said as the first match in the home ground of DC, the Arun Jaitley Stadium was clinched with a great margin of 29 runs by Delhi Capitals. Jemimah Rodrigues of DC smashed 69 runs off 33 balls to mark the score of 192 runs off 4 wickets in 20 overs.

After winning the toss, MI chose to field first as the pitch was new for them. Captain Harmanpreet Kaur leading the team after she missed a couple of matches recovering from a niggle. The home side started well but lost Shafali Verma in the Powerplay, hitting fours and sixes. The Delhi Capitals reached 55/1 at the end of the Powerplay. Further, the powerful strokeplay of Delhi's Jemimah Rodrigues and Meg Lanning contributed to their fourth consecutive win in the TATA WPL 2024 maintaining their position as table toppers. Jemimah Rodrigues with 69* off 33 and Meg Lanning with 53 off 38 provided a great margin to their victory.

DC showcased an all-rounder performance with great batting and prominent bowling as the disciplined bowling led by Jess Jonassen, restricted MI to 163/8. DC grabbed four crucial wickets in the powerplay. Next, Marizanne Kapp took 2 wickets followed by Shikha Pandey, Titas Sadhu, Radha Yadav, and Arundhati Reddy taking off each wicket.

The spectators of Delhi were thrilled with Jemimah Rodrigues's superb 68* run knock clinching the Player of the Match award. Shafali Verma's strike rate of 233.33 presented her with the electric striker of the match award.