TATA WPL 2024: Delhi Capitals Secure 1-Run Win against RCB

TATA WPL 2024: Delhi Capitals Secure 1-Run Win against RCB

By: WE Staff | Monday, 11 March 2024

The Delhi Capitals secured a thrilling win in the final-ball thriller against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Match 17 of the TATA Women's Premier League 2024 at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi. The home team, DC became the second team to qualify for the playoffs along with defending champions, Mumbai Indians. Meg Lanning-led Delhi Capitals are the consistent table toppers so far in the tournament

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, DC started well with Shafali Verma's power performance and Meg Lanning's electric shots. At the end of the powerplay, DC made 53 without and loss of wicket. The two batters, Alice Capsey, and Jemimah Rodrigues, gained confidence by showcasing some elegant shots and trademark sweeps. However, Shreyanka Patil led RCB's fightback, grabbing 4 wickets single-handedly, restricting DC to reach 181/5 in the first innings.

During the second innings, Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Smriti Mandhana and Sophie Molineux played crucial roles in chasing the target of 182 runs. However, Captain Smriti faced an LBW and moved to the pavilion in just 2 overs. Ellyse Perry and Sophie Molineux scored fifty runs for RCB, but Shika Pandey's fielding ended Perry's 49-run knock, and Molineux fell to Jemimah Rodrigues's catch out.

Further, Marizanne Kapp broke the partnership of Sophie Devine and Richa Ghosh, grabbing Devine's wicket for 26. Richa Ghosh smashed two sixes to reduce the run chase, but the RCB batter was run out, which caused Delhi Capitals a 1-run win.