TATA WPL 2024: Recap of Key Moments from Inaugural Season

TATA WPL 2024: Recap of Key Moments from Inaugural Season

By: WE Staff

The much-awaited second season of TATA Women’s Premier League (WPL) is all gearing up in full spirit. The significant matches between the five prominent teams of talented women cricket players can be watched by the spectators from 23 February 2024 till 17 March 2024.

The inaugural season of TATA WPL was loved by every cricket fan for women cricketers’ performance on the field and appreciated by every Indian for bringing a change to society by driving women to the forefront. This tournament is not only a bold move for cricket history but also an important way to change people's perspectives towards women in sports.

The TATA WPL 2024 will consist of five teams, including Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and UP Warriorz. The M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru and the Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium in New Delhi will host the matches. Sixty players from the previous season were retained by their respective teams. During the auction, 30 players, including nine international players were sold. The players highest bidded players are Annabel Sutherland (Australia) to Delhi Capitals for Rs. 2 crore, Kashvee Gautam (India) to Gujarat Giants for Rs. 2 crore, and Phoebe Litchfield (Australia) to Gujarat Giants for Rs. 1 crore.

Recap of TATA WPL 2023

The WPL is a women's Twenty20 cricket franchise league in India, managed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The WPL's inaugural season featured five teams, each representing different cities, and took place from 4 March to 26 March 2023. The tournament was also known as the TATA WPL 2023 due to sponsorship reasons. The season consisted of 22 games: a Final, an Eliminator, and 20 league games. The squad that finished first in the points table advanced directly to the championship game. In the Eliminator match, the teams in second and third place competed.

In the final, the winner of the eliminator faced off against the top scorer in the points table. The Mumbai Indians Women defeated the Delhi Capitals Women in the intense final match. The WPL 2023 included a group system, playoffs, and a round-robin format. Twenty league matches were played during the tournament. In the final, the Mumbai Indians emerged victorious, defeating the Delhi Capitals to clinch the title. The prize money for the season was ₹10 crore (US$1.3 million). Matches were held at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai and the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. Attendances ranged from 9,000 to 13,000 on average, with some matches drawing up to 30,000 spectators. The season was also special as the female spectators were provided free entry throughout the matches held.

Prominent Players of Inaugural Season

Meg Lanning, the Delhi Capitals captain, earned the Orange Cap. She demonstrated her batting power by scoring 345 runs in nine games at a strike rate of 139.11 and an amazing average of 49.28. Throughout the competition, she scored two half-centuries, with her highest being a 72. Meg hit 6 sixes and 50 fours during her inning.

Hayley Matthews the winning team Mumbai Indians player, claimed the Purple Cap. Hayley is an all-round player and was exceptional throughout the competition. She took a phenomenal 16 wickets during the WPL 2023. Hayley kept her strike rate at 12.75, her average at 12.62, and her economy rate at 5.94. Her vital wickets were a major factor in the Mumbai Indians' victory.

Nat Sciver Brunt of Mumbai Indians became the Player of the Match and won Rs. 2.5 lakhs, while Radha Yadav of Delhi Capitals won the title of Power Striker winning Rs. 1 lakh at the end of the tournament.

During the Mumbai Indians vs. UP Warriorz Eliminator match, Issy Wong scored the first and only hat-trick of the 2023 WPL. Fans were in shock as England's Issy Wong delivered an incredible performance, taking three wickets in three balls. Star player Sophie Devine came extremely close to hitting a century with her blazing 99-run innings. During the tournament, her aggressive batting displayed her skill and impressed cricket fans.

Marizanne Kapp, an all-rounder from South Africa, had an outstanding bowling performance against the Gujarat Giants. Her precise length and line affected the opposition, resulting in her taking vital wickets. Tara Norris of Delhi Capitals pulled off an incredible achievement by collecting five wickets in one game. Her team's success was largely due to her exceptional bowling ability. Against the Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians star Grace Harris gave a masterclass with the bat and the ball. Her team's triumph was largely due to her all-around effort. Saika, representing Mumbai Indians, made a significant debut, taking wickets in every over and two against Royal Challengers Bangalore, earning her the Purple Cap.